Planning Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 7 p.m.
  • Tuesday following the third Monday of the month
  • Charles T. Yancey Municipal Building
    503 W. Main St.
    Council Chambers
    Waynesboro, VA 22980


  • Anthony Gibson
    Term expires August 31, 2026
  • Vacant                                                           Term expires  August 31, 2027
  • W. Lowrie Tucker
    Term expires August 31, 2024
  • Will Flory 
    Term expires August 31, 2026  
  • Shannon Boyle, Chair
    Term expires August 31, 2024
  • Kenny Lee
    Term expires Dec 31, 2024
  • Philip Klann
    Term expires August 31, 2025
  • Alisande Tombarge, Clerk

About the Commission

Established as an advisory board by the Waynesboro City Council and in accordance with Section 15.2-2210 of the Code of Virginia, the Planning Commission is charged with forwarding City planning activities “in order to promote the orderly development of the locality and its environs”.  The City Code enumerates the ways in which Planning Commissions shall function as the official body planning for the future growth and development of a locality.  Members shall have the powers, functions and duties provided for by the State Planning Law. The Commission is charged with making investigations and reports on the design and improvement of proposed divisions of land and the imposing of requirements or conditions thereon, and shall have final jurisdiction in the approval or disapproval of tentative maps, subject to appeal to the City Council.

The members serve four-year terms, with a limit of two and a half full consecutive terms per ordinance number 2000-7.